## Open News - Taranaki Open Fours

Friday, January 19, 2024

www.taranakibowls.co.nz www.facebook.com/taranakibowls/

## Dickison bows out in two frustrating losses

Bowls can be a great game and a cruel game. of rounds to qualify, after his side was belted Just ask Tauranga's Dan Dickison.

The accomplished player experienced the morning. best of the Midlands Funds Management Tara- That forced Delany into a must-win seventh naki men's Open fours when he won the event round

fication by the narrowest of margins.

They entered the day with four wins and a one took a two to qualify 22-20. -point loss. In their first attempt to gain win No After only one win from the first two days, around the jack to snatch a four and a one- over Graeme Fulford (Havelock North). point win.

up one of his own team's bowls to take the petitor. match 19-18.

too, with just 52 team qualifying.

Plaving Barrie McNeal's team toiled valiantly.

McNeal 19-17.

game, surged ahead 23-17 after 20 ends adrift of Reddy at the end. against Takapuna's Simon Poppleton. But Pop- Even though the qualification criteria this year winning the extra end to eliminate Petelo.

The 2005 champion, Ray Park (Wanganui), won twice to advance. He looked safe leading Gavin Crow (Vogeltown) 23-9 after 17 ends. Crow then produced eight unanswered points, before a four sealed Park's 27-17 victory.

Dan Delany (Royal Oak) needed the full quota

22-6 by Phill Chisholm (Mairangi Bay) in the

against six-winner (Sunshine Coast). Delany appeared to be But yesterday his more than useful team felt cruising after 16 ends, with a 19-7 lead. But the despair of defeat when they missed quali- then Nixon commenced his run, levelling the scores and forcing an extra end. But Delany

5, Dickison led fellow four-winner Gerry Mike Oldfield (Tauranga South) completed O'Sullivan (Inglewood) 23-20 playing the last the transformation, winning the next four to end. But the Inglewood boys plonked them qualify. The last effort was a good one, 21-14

Maurice Symes (Fitzroy) had a similar story, In the afternoon, playing another four-winner, winning five in succession after he lost the Colin Boyle (Carlton Cornwall), Dickison's opening two games. The 77-year-old former side went to an extra end. There Boyle rolled New Zealand rep remains a determined com-

Section three became the group of death, with There was plenty of heartbreak elsewhere, just two teams surviving - Mike Reddy (Kaitaia) and Anton Ferrari (Naenae). In the Rewa's Dave McNeal needed his last match to morning's feature game, Reddy took the safest Johnstone path by beating Ferrari 26-21.

(Katikati), who had lost the lot until then, Heading into the last round, five teams sat on four wins. Only Ferrari managed to win, beat-But Johnstone had one of those games where ing fellow four-winner Bob Shorter (Darfield) whatever he did, he got a result, denying 25-20. Eric Foreman (Fitzroy) and David Ball (Carlton Cornwall) both fell one point short Pt Chevalier's John Petelo, needing his last and Steve Cottam (Paritutu) was just four shots

pleton, despite losing his qualifying chances was reduced by one game, due to Monday's in the morning, battled on, forcing and then rain, the elation and frustration remain just as pronounced.



## Champion teammates to square off

The feature opening game in post section this Bird comprise Hope's side. morning will occur on the back green at Pari- Despite 12 of the 52 teams receiving "byes" tutu where two members of the 2020 Domin- into round two, these teams will still play at team. Garv ley) will meet.

Lawson, teaming with Shayne Sincock, Paul "It is a long-standing tradition in Taranaki that en throughout the week.

Hope's side has suffered a defeat in the third man Robert Wolfe said. round but have been comfortable victors "We think that the players much prefer to since. John Brien, Corey Brookes and Robbie have an afternoon off instead of a morning."

Lawson 9am today. The winners will then have the af-(Elmwood Park) and Caleb Hope (Stokes Val-ternoon off and resume in the last 16 tomorrow, where all the action will be at Paritutu.

Matheson and Kelvin Scott, has been unbeat- we endeavour to play as many bye games in advance as possible," Bowls Taranaki Chair-

## Fours post section and pairs section play for Friday

Post section draw for the 119th Taranaki men's Pairs draw (8.45am start): Open fours on January 19 (all 9am start):

Cornwall), Evan Thomas (Birkenhead) v Gary Mark Benton (Tak), Gary Barber (Pari). Johnstone (Arrowtown). Round 2: Nigel Musgrave Section 2 - Vogeltown B: Cary Pinker (Wang Et), Ramsay (Mt Albert) v Peter Belliss (Aramoho).

Plymouth), Gary Lawson (Elmwood) v Caleb Hope (Wak). (Stokes Valley), Mike Oldfield (Tauranga South) v Section 3 - West End 3: Bill Morrison (Omo), Bill Garry Banks (Takapuna).

v Peter Nixon (Sunshine Coast), Stephen Lidding- Av), Peter Vink (Fitz), Gavin McLeod (Tawa). ton (Hillcrest) v Anton Ferrari (Naenae), Bruce Section 4 - West End 2: Terry Hancock (WE), Sutton (Putaruru).

(West End) v Phil Morgan (Te Puke).

Section 1 - Vogeltown A: Gareth Evans (J/ville), Section 1, Paritutu A, round 1: Kevin Deegan Tobyn Hori (NP), Ted Walker (Carl-Corn), Craig (South Johnstone) v Wayne Parker (Bay Veiw), Metcalfe (Vog), Kevan Sellers (Vog), Bruce Milne Darren Scott (West End) v Cliff Rona (Waitara), (Hin), Kevin Smith (Hin), Murray Baylis (J/ville), Maurice Symes (Fitzroy) v Neville Clark (Carlton Michael O'Leary (Ara), Marc Wingrove (Wait),

(Naenae) v Colin Boyle (Carlton Cornwall), Steve Gavin Crow (Vog), Martin Hitchings (Orewa), Mike Paton (Orewa), Warrick Pinker (Wang Et), Section 2, Paritutu B, round 1: Mark Anderson Steve Cottam (Vog), Ryan King (NP), Craig Nutt (Tower) v Mike Reddy (Kaitaia Church Road), (Waim), Peter Lange (TK), Nairn McGibbon (J/ Brendon Gibson (Johnsonville) v Bill Foley (New ville), Shae Fleming (Rah), Lindsay McCaughan

Gerry O'Sullivan (Inglewood). Round 2: Tupu Read (Pari), Paul Hassall (Tawa), Wayne Te Huki (Opononi) v Garry Muriwai (NP), Rodney Woods (Okato), Paul Darbyshire (Martinborough), Craig De Faria (West End) v (WE), Bob Edwards (Mass/Av), Mario Marinovich (NP), Cliff Webber (Omo), Adam Blucher (Te Ata-Section 3, Oakura, round 1: Ross Clark (Manaia) tu), David Stachurski (Ing), Tim Clarkson (Masse/

Phillips (Tumut) v Scotty McGavin (Bulls), Steve Gavin Bannatyne (Upper Hutt), Paul Eaton (Mt Muller (Oakura) v Trevor Harris (Hillcrest), Ray Maung), Darryl Fale (Mt Maung), Wally Johnson Park (Wanganui) v Nigel Drew (Birkenhead), (Katikati), Stephen Hunter (Upper Hutt), Ash Paul Wayne Harris (Orewa) v Blake Signal (Stokes Val- (Darfield), Gary Watson (Titahi Bay), Perry Byres ley). Round 2: Darren Goodin (Paritutu) v Owen (Titahi Bay), Paul Megaw (Okato), Willy Parker (Darfield), Barrie Johnstone (Katikati).

Section4, Inglewood, round 1: Murray Dickson Section 5 - Lepperton: John Zittersteijn (Paritutu), (Pakuranga) v Andy Ellis (Pringle Park), Mike Barney Haw (Inglewood), Nigel Berry (Hawera Bradshaw (Onehunga & Districts) v Daniel Geaney Park), Mike Baldwin (Paritutu), Gary Dougherty (Blockhouse Bay), Frankie Lim (Pukekohe) v Grant (New Lynn), Steve Lapslie (Parklands), Hugh An-Pease (Fitzroy), Neil Bovey (Paekakariki) v Danny drews (Bannockburn), Ross Sinclair (Opunake), Delany (Royal Oak), Scott Roberts (Tower) v Lau- Ken Thomas (Kaikohe), Chris Carter (Parklands), rie Guy (Victoria), Aidan Zittersteijn (Paritutu) v Trevor Howell (Otaki Railway), Kevin Seaver Ross Thorn (Naenae). Round 2: John Garrud (Fitzroy), Roger Sutton (Carlton-Cornwall), Dion Davis (Kaikohe).