# **Bowls Taranaki (Inc)**

## <u>Minutes of a meeting of the Board of Bowls Taranaki held</u> <u>At the Bowls Taranaki office on 14<sup>th</sup> May 2024 at 10am</u>

- **WELCOME:** The Board Chairman welcomed the Board members.
- **PRESENT:** Robert Wolfe (Chairman), Grant Hassall (President), Kristin Stampa (VP) Kevin Gray, Chris Commane, Dean File, Val McEldowney

<u>APOLOGIES</u>: Ian Lewis. It was moved by Kevin Gray/Kristin Stampa that the apology be accepted. CARRIED

**MINUTES:** Moved by Kristin Stampa/Dean File that the minutes of the Board meeting held on 16<sup>th</sup> April 2024 having been duplicated and circulated to all members, be taken as read and confirmed.

## MATTERS ARISING: None

**IN-COMMITTEE MINUTES** of 16<sup>th</sup> April 2024 received, moved by Chris Commane/Kevin Gray.

### **CORRESPONDENCE**:

ln:

Northern division – AGM 7 July 2024

Irene Taunt – nominating Megan Peters for administrator of the year

Opunake Bowling Club - nominating Terry Mullin for greenkeeper of the year

Bowls New Zealand – 2024/25 Summer of Bowls calendar requirements

Venture Taranaki – branding and promotional opportunities for 2024/25

Bowls Taranaki Umpires Association - nomination for David Brunton for umpire of the year

Kiwi Gaming Foundation grant decline – no funding outlets remaining in Taranaki

Taranaki Secondary Schools Sports Association – preparations for next season.

Bowls New Zealand – advising AGM is on 14 September 2024 via Teams; levies to increase by 4%.

Symons Group – 2025 Open travel package

Taranaki Coaches Assn - report and points to consider

<u>Out:</u>

April Board minutes to clubs

Venture Taranaki – signed agreement for 2025 Open

Rep selectors debrief meeting minutes

Rep players debrief meeting minutes

Kiwi Gaming Foundation grant application – declined no venues now in area.

Draft programme for 2024-25 season to clubs

The inwards correspondence was received and outwards confirmed. Moved by Kevin Gray/Chris Commane.

## CARRIED

Tracey Dempster from Symonds Travel has provided an alternative to their proposal. Robert moved updated proposal be forwarded to Barry Sullivan and Larry Haines, to have it out there for the Australian Open and Sunshine Coast tournaments. CARRIED

Robert sent an email to Peter White thanking Pihama for their efforts conducting the 125<sup>th</sup> jubilee.

FINANCIALS: Moved by Grant Hassall/Kevin Gray that the financial statements for April be accepted and payments confirmed CARRIED

The draft financials statements for 2024 having been previously circulated were discussed. These are in a different format to earlier years, as required under the incoming Incorporated Societies Act. Moved Grant Hassall/Kristin Stampa the financial accounts be circulated to VBW for their review.

#### CARRIED

## REPORTS:

- <u>Administration/Marketing</u>
  Revital Fertilisers are not renewing their sponsorship next season, so will need a new sponsor for the representative teams.
  Robert and Ian will be meeting with the Dominion Breweries representative for Taranaki upon Ian's return.
- b) Events

Finals day for Champion of Champions went exceedingly well, with a reasonable number of public and non bowlers there in support.

Coaches Assn have suggested first year singles be played when Intercentre on and a play and mark format. The Board feels it is more beneficial to play than to mark and having Hugh Moss when Intercentre is on involves more players.

c) <u>High Performance</u>

Debriefs went very well with some good ideas coming out, with onus on following up and making sure things happen.

## GENERAL BUSINESS:

<u>Bowls NZ Roadshow:</u> Reminder that on Tuesday, 21<sup>st</sup> May at 6pm at Stratford-Avon Mark Cameron and Martin McKenzie (Bowls NZ) will be discussing constitutional matters and the new template under the Incorporated Societies Act, along with a general update.

<u>Appointment of Patron:</u> The meeting agreed that Patty Symes be appointed as Patrong for the coming season.

Board for 2024-25 season:

Independent members (two vacancies) – applications were received from Val McEldowney and Chris Commane. Since the number of applications equals the number of vacancies, both Val and Chris are appointed for a further two-year term each.

President – one nomination received from Grant Hassall.

Vice-president – one application received from Kristin Stampa.

<u>Levy:</u> The resolution of April's meeting was clarified with the annual levy for the 2024-25 season remaining unchanged at \$24.00 plus GST.

<u>Bar for Hugh Moss</u>: As the event now counts towards the Silver Bar award, it was agreed that a bar for the winners should be presented, as it is for the junior singles. The Silver Bar was introduced in two years ago and therefore the winners from 2022-23 and 2023-24 will receive bars. Annual awards:

Club of the Year – Paritutu

Male player of the year (determined by points) – Kaylin Huwyler.

Female player of the year (determined by points) – Briar Atkinson.

It was agreed that the Youth player eligibility be set at under 20 as at 1<sup>st</sup> September each season.

After considering various nominations, recommendations and discussion, the following winners were selected by the Board:

Youth Player of the Year – Briar Atkinson.

Umpire of the year – David Brunton.

Coach of the year – Vickie Kelly.

Greenkeeper of the year – Wayne Robinson. Administrator of the year – Fiona Liddall. The above award winners were moved en masse by Robert Wolfe/Grant Hassall <u>Awards dinner:</u> to be held Sunday, 16<sup>th</sup> June 2024 at 5.30pm at Devon Hotel.

CARRIED

The meeting was closed at 12noon.

**Next Meeting:** Saturday, 29<sup>th</sup> June following the AGM.

Confirmed as a true and correct record: .....

Chairman:

Date