Bowls Taranaki (inc.)

Minutes of a meeting of the board of Bowls Taranaki held at the Bowls Taranaki office on 23rd July 2024 at 10.30am

WELCOME: The Board Chairman welcomed the board members.

PRESENT: Robert Wolfe (Chairman), Grant Hassall (President), Kristin Stampa (Vice-President), Dean File, Val McEldowney, Kevin Gray, Chris Commane, Ian Lewis (Executive Officer)

APOLOGIES: None.

MINUTES: Moved by Kevin Gray/Val McEldowney that the minutes of the board meeting held on 16th April 2024 and on the 29th June 2024 having been duplicated and circulated to all members, be taken as read and confirmed.

MATTERS ARISING: None

CORRESPONDENCE:

Inwards: Thank You from Keyarn and AJ Rowlands

Dispensation from Hawera Park to host tournament on 8th and 9th of November Request from Chris O'Dea – Support person for disability bowlers **Bowls NZ AGM Notice** Bowls NZ Centre Constitution Template and Documents **Regional Meeting Minutes Greenkeepers AGM Minutes** Greenkeepers Letter – Early Season Play Northern Division AGM Minutes Awakino Letter regarding their Centenary and Inc. Societies requirements Letter from Coaches Association regards High Performance Committee Introduction from Taranaki Regional Facilities Consortium Outwards: Minutes to Awakino Bowling Club Annual Financial Report to Companies Office Conditions of Play to Waikato Budget and Conditions of Play for Junior Hexagonal Grant Application to Lion Foundation – Power and Rent for Office Accountability Report for Tu Manawa Funding **Sponsors Proofs and Proposals** Entry forms to all NZ and Australian clubs on database Affiliation letter to Opunake Bowling Club Letter to Paritutu BC in support of their nomination for Bowls NZ Greenkeepers of the Year Nomination of Paritutu for Bowls NZ Club of the Year.

The Inwards correspondence was received and outwards confirmed. Moved by Dean File, seconded by Chris Commane

CARRIED

FINANCIALS: Moved by Grant Hassall/Kevin Gray that the financial statements for May and June be approved.

It was moved by Grant Hassall/Dean File that "Bowls Taranaki apply to Four Winds Foundation for a grant of \$7630.35 exc GST to cover our accommodation costs to represent Taranaki in Wellington at the National Intercentre and in Hamilton for our annual representative fixture against Waikato."

REPORTS

a) Administration

We are pleased to welcome on board La Nuova, Suchy & Co, CRM Plumbing and Q-Transport as new sponsors for the upcoming season.

Please be aware our postal address has changed and that we no longer use the PO Box. All post is to be sent to 445 St Aubyn Street, Moturoa, New Plymouth 4310.

b) Marketing

Inquiries with Australian teams suggest a number of teams still coming this season. Plans with Symons Travel for an Australian Travel package to be put on hold for this season.

c) <u>Greens</u>

Mike Walsh, Terry Mullin and Keith Sampson are the new Greens Advisory Panel. Ian Lewis to continue to work directly with Keith Sampson.

d) <u>High Performance</u>

It was moved by Grant Hassall/Kristin Stampa that Maurice Symes be appointed to chair the High Performance Committee.

An amendment was then moved by Dean File/Val McEldowney that Dean File chair the High Performance Committee, with Kristin Stampa, Maurice Symes, the Men's Selector and the Women's Selector comprising the rest of the committee.

CARRIED

The amended motion then became the substantive motion and was put to the meeting.

A meeting to be scheduled to discuss the upcoming season.

e) <u>Youth</u>

It was agreed that Kevin Gledhill, Amanda Crehan and Ian Lewis be appointed to a sub-committee for youth bowls for the upcoming season.

It was moved by Robert Wolfe/Dean File that "Bowls Taranaki apply to the Sport Taranaki Tu Manawa Fund for costs associated with our 2024-25 programme for Youth Bowls." **CARRIED**

f) <u>Membership/Club Engagement</u>

Board Members to liaise with 'buddy clubs' throughout the season. Robert Wolfe to be involved with Waitara, Lepperton and Urenui. Chris Commane with Pihama,

Opunake and Manaia. Kristin Stampa with Patea, Hawera Park, Tower and Stratford-Avon. Kevin Gray with Rahotu, Okato and Oakura. Grant Hassall with Awakino, West End, Waimea and Vogeltown. Val McEldowney with New Plymouth and Paritutu and Dean File with Inglewood and Fitzroy.

GENERAL BUSINESS

Bowls New Zealand AGM

It was moved by Grant Hassall/Chris Commane that Robert Wolfe be our delegate for the Bowls New Zealand AGM. CARRIED

It was moved by Robert Wolfe/Kristin Stampa that Bowls Taranaki vote against the motion put forward by Bowls Wanganui that runner-ups be able to participate in National Champion of Champion's events.

Gold Star Events & Player of the Year Points

It was agreed that events carrying points towards the Gold Star and the points system for Player of the Year remain the same for the upcoming season.

<u>Advert</u>

It was agreed that an advert would be placed in the upcoming handbook for Big Brothers, Big Sisters charity. Moved by Robert Wolfe/Kristin Stampa. **CARRIED**

<u>Taranaki v Waikato Trophy</u>

A trophy is to be organised between Taranaki and Waikato for the upcoming fixture. Waikato to be approached to see if they are happy to name it after Ron Buchan who played in both Centres and attended the Taranaki Open for over 60 years.

At 11.55am, it was moved by Grant Hassall/Robert Wolfe that the meeting go in committee CARRIED

At 12.05pm, it was moved by Grant Hassall/Robert Wolfe that the meeting come out of committee. CARRIED

The meeting was closed at 12.10pm.

Next Meeting: Tuesday, 27th August at 10.30am.

Confirmed as a true and correct record:

Chairman:

Date