# Open News - Taranaki Open Fours

Friday, January 24, 2025

www.taranakibowls.co.nz www.facebook.com/taranakibowls/

## 45 sides qualify for post section

Precisely 25% of the sides that commenced Tupu Campbell (Opononi) came through with on Monday morning have earned their right two wins, 27-21 over Allan Sandercock to take part in post section today in the 120th (Sunshine Coast) and 21-6 over Tony James Midlands Funds Management Taranaki men's (Mairangi Bay). Sandercock used up his last Open fours.

much more difficult.

Among the qualifiers was Evan Jones (Fitzroy) ference for Sandercock. who won twice to make it. In the afternoon Pat Walklin (Oakura) claimed both games to comfort of having already having claimed six (Plimmerton) 25-21. wins.

conclude at 27-9.

1988 semifinalist Steve over mation from Monday of six straight wins.

Waterson had led 18-14 after 19 ends and the nated the scoring after that. scores were all-square after 23.

draw this time does not see them advance to 26-15. round two, although 19 have had that luck.

Elsewhere, Neil Clarke (Frankton Junction) advanced with two wins — 21-18 over Phil Morgan (Te Puke), having led by eight points with two ends remaining, and then Marty Doak (Far North RSA) 26-13.

life and sneaked through 24-23 in the last That equates to 45 sides and there were the round. His side was pushed all the way by Briinevitable stories of relief and disappointment an Osmond (Frankton Junction). Osmond led as a stronger breeze made accurate bowling 13-7 and got back in front 22-21 with two to go. But a three on the penultimate was the dif-

round, his side made no race of its game qualify. He sneaked from 20-19 down after 21 against Ross Thorn (Naenae), who had the ends in the last to beat Graham Down

In a winner-take-all last round clash, Paul Aided by a six on the fifth, Jones raced ahead Digby (Stratford-Avon), after an agonising one to 15-0 after seven ends. Thorn brought it -point loss in the morning, beat Mark Pene back to 15-7, but Jones took control. Consecu- (Whangamata) 28-17. Both sides had five wins tive fours on the 15th and 16th saw the game at the start of the game. Pene led 14-10 before Digby took over.

Brendon Walton (Auckland) was untroubled Among the more recognisable skips to depart in both games, the last victory being 19-7 on day four was Peter Dorreen (Far North Goater RSA) and Grant Anderson (Tower). Anderson (Wanganui). His side completed the transfor- led for 25-16 after 18 ends, but lost 27-26 to Brent Stubbins (Johnsonville) in round seven.

But Chris Waterson (St Johns) and Dennis Dorreen was denied 28-21 by Scott Siffleet Turner (Lepperton), after morning wins, (Vogeltown) in round eight. Siffleet led 14-0, missed out in the afternoon. Waterson went but the rugged Dorreen clawed back, hitting down 24-19 to Glen Rich (Blockhouse Bay). the lead at 19-18 after 19. But the locals domi-

Paddy Deegan (Opunake) won twice to finish Turner lost 35-12 to Dave Walker (Tahunanui). with seven wins. The sixth win in the morning Rich and Walker had the joint distinction of was not without incident. Seven down on the being the only two sides to play and win all head, Deegan threw a wrong bias. But he reeight games. A few generations ago, winning deemed himself with his second bowl, draweight gave teams preferential byes. The open ing second shot. His side beat Bart Robertson



# Only 12 teams to be left in fours tonight

the Open fours by the end of play today. The eight sides in the top of the draw in both secpreferred maximum number that could be ac- tions will play two rounds today, despite alcommodated onto two greens for post section ready being a round ahead. four greens for post section will be used.

too, organisers have decided to play as many compared to 64 last year.

There will be only 12 teams left standing in bye games as possible. That means that the

is 42, and with that exceeded, the projected The survivors from those parts of the draw will play their quarterfinals on Saturday morning. With an eve to the weather for the weekend. Meanwhile 92 sides are in the pairs event —

## Fours post section and pairs section play for Friday

Post section draw for the 120th Taranaki men's (Clayton), R Meacle (Sunshine Coast), P Hari Open fours on January 24 (all 9am start):

**Section 1 at Paritutu:** 

ney/Pease winner has bye until Saturday.

Round 1: Graeme Crawford (Pohara) v Mark Dicks (Coromandel). Mathews (Tui Park), Steve Critchlow (Naenae) v Section 3 at Oakura: D File (Fitzroy), D Wolland Darren Goodin (Paritutu).

### Section 2 at West End:

v Paddy Deegan (Opunake).

To report at 12.30pm: Trevor Johns (Paritutu).

Peter Belliss (Aramoho).

#### Pairs draw (8.45am start):

Ryan (Inglewood), A Campbell (Composite), R Scott (Kensington), F Gecse (New Plymouth).

(Tawa), B McRoberts (Titahi Bay).

Section 2 at Vogeltown B: W Te Huki Round 2: Ashley Paul (Darfield) v Logan Amer (Vogeltown), W Field (Otaki Railway), A Riddock (Johnsonville), David Ball (Carlton Cornwall) v (Paritutu), D Hawken (Raumati), R Sutton (Carlton Garry Petersen (Wanganui East), Frankie Lim Cornwall), N Eriwata (Lepperton), S McCormick (Pukekohe) v Peter Small (Hutt), Evan Jones (Plimmerton), C Pinker (Wanganui East), M Taylor (Fitzroy) v Allan Peers (Thames), Daniel Geaney (Clayton), B Clarke (Tawa). B Kell (Plimmerton), S (Blockhouse Bay) v Grant Pease (Fitzroy). Gea- Siffleet (Vogeltown), C Carter (Parklands), P Byres (Titahi Bay), K Hills (Oaks North California), I

Dave Walker (Tahunanui), John Garrud (West (ParaBowls), B McCallum (Reporoa), P Megaw End) v Phil Todd (Johnsonville), John Gray (Okato), C Murray (Oakura), C Nutt (Waimea), R (Fitzroy) v Malcolm Moore (Frankton Junction), Aiken (Fairfield), D Turner (Lepperton), P Huw-Gavin Hamlyn (Martinborough) v Neville Hill yler (ParaBowls), J Spawforth (Bulls), W Linney (Onehunga & Districts), Andy Ellis (Pringle Park) v (Bulls), W Place (Reporoa), P Howell (Composite), T Nagle (West End).

Section 4 at Inglewood: J Blyde (Vogeltown), N Round 2: Brendon Walton (Auckland) v Grant Earley (Inglewood), G Barber (Composite), R Dy-Wakefield (Johnsonville), Joe Hunn (Kia Toa) v ason (Stratford-Avon), G Bannatyne (Upper Hutt), Dan Dickison (Tauranga), Gavin Brown (Royal B O'Sullivan (Inglewood), G McLeod (Tawa), A Oak) v Ross Thorn (Naenae), Pat Walklin (Oakura) Wall (Upper Hutt), N Goodin (Composite), M Paton (Orewa), I Little (Beach Haven), T Rayner (Tawa), M Hitchings (Orewa), P Lepper (Compo-Round 1: David Campbell (Rewa) v Rob Ashton site), C Horo (Composite), D West (Fitzroy).

(Carlton Cornwall), John Petelo (Pt Chevalier) v Section 5 at Waitara: B Miller (Johnsonville), C Craig De Faria (West End), Paul Digby (Stratford Rona (Waitara), L Abric (Tumut), W Harris (Orew-Avon) v Paul Eaton (Mt Maunganui), Allan Sander- a), C Ash (Kia Toa), H Andrews (Bannockburn), P cock (Sunshine Coast) v Scott Roberts (Tower), Vink (Fitzroy), B Hardwidge (New Plymouth), B Neil Clarke (Frankton Junction) v Tupu Campbell Lilley (West End), G Rossiter (Tumut), D Peters (Opononi), Gerard Slattery (Hinuera) v Billy Ful- (West End), M Baldwin (Lepperton), K Bishop ton (Henderson), Glen Rich (Blockhouse Bay) v (Inglewood), R Duggan (Central Levin), M Andrews (Johnsonville), N Candy (West End).

Section 6 at New Plymouth: K Alexander Section 1 at Vogeltown A: B Morrison (Johnsonville), P Pershouse (Gladstone), G Murfitt (Omokoroa), J Wright (Plimmerton), D Scott (West End), N MacGibbon (Johnsonville), G Evans End), K Sellers (Vogeltown), P Bartosh (Otaki Rail- (Johnsonville), B Foley (New Plymouth), B Johnway), W Pinker (Wanganui East), S Lapslie stone (Katikati), A Wisnewski (Inglewood), D Sta-(Parklands), G James (Coromandel), C Metcalfe churski (Inglewood), K Mahon (Katikati), B Read (Oakura), C Haw (Paritutu), A Bare (Kensington), D McMurchy