Taranaki Place Third in National Under 26’s

Our Bowls Taranaki Under 26 team competed this weekend in the National Under 26 competition in Wellington. In an exciting finish, Taranaki come home strongly with a win in their final matches to clinch 3rd place. Needing two wins in their final, Briar Atkinson won her singles 21-18. Then the Fours featuring, Nathan Goodin, Keyarn Rowlands-Katene, Camron Horo and Aidan Zittersteijn who were trailing, won their last end and the match 15-14. These results meant that they finished third behind the overall winners Wellington and Canterbury. Congratulations to our young team who played against talented players from all around the country.

Last year the team performed exceptionally well and beat Wellington in the final to become the first winners of the trophy. Manager Simon Rowe picked the same team as last year, with only one exception that being Luca Dobson, who unfortunately could not travel due to a late ankle injury. He was replaced by Keyarn Rowlands-Katene from Tower. Thank you to the following players who were selected.

Bowls Taranaki Under 26 team:
Briar Atkinson, Camron Horo, Aidan Zittersteijn, Nathan Goodin, Keyarn Rowlands-Katene.
Manager: Simon Rowe

Bowls Taranaki Annual Awards

Thank you to everyone who attended our Annual Awards held at The Devon Hotel. Congratulations to all the Award Winners and we look forward to next season.

Club of the Year – Paritutu Bowling Club

Male player of the year (determined by points) – Kaylin Huwyler (Paritutu Bowling Club).

Female player of the year – Briar Atkinson (Paritutu Bowling Club).

Youth Player of the Year – Briar Atkinson (Paritutu Bowling Club).

Umpire of the year – David Brunton (Fitzroy Bowling Club- New Plymouth).

Coach of the year – Vickie Kelly (Fitzroy Bowling Club- New Plymouth).

Greenkeeper of the year – Wayne Robinson (Oakura Bowling Club).

Administrator of the year – Fiona Liddall (Okato Bowling Club).

2023-24 Annual Report

The 2023-24 Annual Report, including the financial statements and draft programme for 2024-25, has been released. To view the report, click on Annual Report. These will be discussed at the Centre AGM, which is on June 29 at Stratford-Avon, commencing at 9.30am.

Bowls Taranaki Champion of Champion Finals Weekend Results

This weekend saw the completion of the Bowls Taranaki Champion of Champion’s and Hugh Moss events. In good spirits and chilly conditions we saw a number of clubs from around Taranaki represented. Congratulations to the following winners:

Winner: Junior Women’s Singles – Amanda Crehan, (Paritutu)
Winner: Junior Men’s Singles – Fred Quilter, (Lepperton)
Winner’s Men’s Pairs – Camron Horo, Joel Chard, (Rahotu)
Winner’s Women’s Pairs – Kristin Stampa, Ella Smailes (Hawera Park)
Winner’s Men’s Fours – Scott Roberts, Grant Anderson, Mark Anderson, Brendan Anderson, (Tower)
Winner’s Women’s Fours – Briar Atkinson, Tina Atkinson-Watt, Alesha Quay, Jackie Moeahu, (Paritutu)
Winner Men’s Singles – Maurice Symes (Fitzroy)
Winner Women’s Singles – Briar Atkinson (Paritutu)
Winner Women’s Triples – Briar Atkinson, Tina Atkinson-Watt, Jackie Moeahu (Paritutu)
Winner Men’s Triples – Kaylin Huwyler, Phil Huwyler, Kevan Sellers (Paritutu)
Hugh Moss (Junior Pairs) – Gavin Benton, Simon Rowe (Fitzroy)

Champion of Champions Finals Weekend


Good luck to all those involved.

Saturday, April 27, commencing at 8.30am:

Junior women’s singles final: Amanda Crehan (Paritutu) Vs. Alethea Rowlands (Tower).

Junior men’s singles final: Fred Quilter (Lepperton) Vs. Shae Fleming (Rahotu).

Men’s pairs final: Gerry O’Sullivan and Steve Sabine (Inglewood) Vs. Camron Horo and Joel Chard (Rahotu).

Women’s fours final: Briar Atkinson, Tina Atkinson-Watt, Alesha Quay and Jackie Moeahu (Paritutu) Vs. Marlene Malcolm, Ada Senior, Anne Hinton and Jenny Newton (Waitara).

Men’s fours final: Bill Johnston, Peter Vink, Ian Dawson and Andrew Gadsby (Fitzroy) Vs. Scott Roberts, Grant Anderson, Mark Anderson and Brendan Anderson (Tower).

Saturday, April 27, commencing at 11.15am (approximately):

Senior men’s singles final: Gerry O’Sullivan (Inglewood) Vs. Maurice Symes (Fitzroy).

Women’s pairs final: Theresa Needham and Sheryle Taylor (Stratford-Avon) Vs. Kristin Stampa and Ella Smailes (Hawera Park).

Women’s triples final: Val McEldowney, Anne Brophy and Anne Duggan (New Plymouth) Vs. Briar Atkinson, Tina Atkinson-Watt and Jackie Moeahu (Paritutu).

Men’s triples final: Kaylin Huwyler, Piripi Huwyler and Kevan Sellers (Paritutu) Vs. Brendan Anderson, Mark Anderson and Grant Anderson (Tower).

Dean File-sponsored Hugh Moss junior pairs semifinal 1: Alesha Quay and Jimmy Quay (Paritutu) Vs. Gavin Benton and Simon Rowe (Fitzroy).

Dean File-sponsored Hugh Moss junior pairs semifinal 2: Terry Fieldes and Kevin McCutchan (Urenui) Vs. Shae Fleming and Joel Chard (Rahotu).

Saturday, April 27, commencing at 2pm (approximately):

Senior women’s singles final: Briar Atkinson (Paritutu) Vs. Ella Smailes (Hawera Park).

Dean File-sponsored Hugh Moss junior pairs final: teams to be determined.

Bowls Taranaki AGM & Bowls NZ Inc. Society Update

This is notice that Bowls Taranaki will be having their AGM at Stratford-Avon Bowling Club on Saturday the 29th of June 2024 at 9.30am.

Also notice that Bowls New Zealand are hosting a meeting at Stratford-Avon to discuss the changes to the Incorporated Societies Act. All Clubs and interested parties are invited to attend. Meeting to be held Tuesday 21st May at 6pm at Stratford.

Awakino in the Sunshine

Awakino held their last day of bowls for the season over this weekend and with members playing in various tournaments around the country some of us took the opportunity to travel north for play.

An enjoyable trip up today to Awakino Bowling Club and a few members from Waitara ventured up to play in their final gala tournament of the season. Very enjoyable occassion with only a minimal hold up as we negotiated the road works on Mount Messenger. 1st place with 3 wins was a local Awakino team skipped by Crystal with John Ape-Esera (skip) Wolfey & Annie ( 2 wins & big differential) taking 2nd prize & Nigel winning 1 of the MONSTER MEAT PACK raffles courtesy Kiwi Butcher. Great day out on the green topped off with a wonderful afternoon tea.

Thanks Awakino Bowling Club.